30 years of fandom

Skylarker

People come second, or possibly third.
It occurred to me this morning that I've been listening to Morrissey since the Summer of 1991. Pretty obsessively. Still my top artist. Still a huge fan.

Found him when I was 15. Caricature lonely kid; had just moved. Didn't really have any friends, definitely no girlfriend. Didn't think that would ever change.

His lyrics and presentation gave me a perspective and a solace and an OK to self-accept that I would not have had otherwise. Not to mention untold hours of visceral joy from the music itself. When I first heard Our Frank on the radio (WXRT in Chicagoland) I knew this dude was cut from a WAY different cloth than anything else I'd ever heard or ever would hear. Extremely smart, funny, in pain, and invulnerable all at once.

I immediately voraciously scooped up everything that had been released up to that point and I haven't stopped since, even though I am a totally different person than I was as a kid.

Just wondering if anyone else wants to recall how/when they got into him.

It occurred to me this morning that I've been listening to Morrissey since the Summer of 1991. Pretty obsessively. Still my top artist. Still a huge fan.

Found him when I was 15. Caricature lonely kid; had just moved. Didn't really have any friends, definitely no girlfriend. Didn't think that would ever change.

His lyrics and presentation gave me a perspective and a solace and an OK to self-accept that I would not have had otherwise. Not to mention untold hours of visceral joy from the music itself. When I first heard Our Frank on the radio (WXRT in Chicagoland) I knew this dude was cut from a WAY different cloth than anything else I'd ever heard or ever would hear. Extremely smart, funny, in pain, and invulnerable all at once.

I immediately voraciously scooped up everything that had been released up to that point and I haven't stopped since, even though I am a totally different person than I was as a kid.