Durutti Column releases Factory Records 6 CD Boxset via Kooky Disc

The Seeker of Good Songs

Well-Known Member
Kooky Disc announce the re-issue of the first 4 albums by the Durutti Column. Originally released on the Factory Records label between 1980 and 1984, the albums have now been re-mastered from the original master tapes recovered from the late Tony Wilson's home. Wilson was the Factory Records label owner). This six CD box set is limited to 1175 copies and comprised of the following 4 fully re-mastered albums: "The Return Of The Durutti Column", "LC", "Another Setting" and "Without Mercy". The set is completed with 2 limited bonus CDs only available as part of this boxset holding previously unreleased demos, versions and outtakes from the period and previously unreleased live recordings from London, Glasgow, and Brighton 82/84. Available from September 15th, 2009 on.

Durutti Column was founded in 1978 by Tony Wilson and Alan Erasmus who built a band around the remnants of local punk rock band Fast Breeder: drummer Chris Joyce and guitarist Dave Rowbotham; calling the then incomplete group as The Durutti Column. Former guitarist for local punk rock band Ed Banger and The Nosebleeds, Vini Reilly, joined the band later on being followed by Phil Rainford on vocals, and Tony Bowers, formerly of Alberto Y Lost Trios Paranoias, on bass.

The band stayed an ongoing project of guitarist (and occasional pianist) Vini Reilly who is often accompanied by drummer Bruce Mitchell. Other current members are Keir Stewart (on bass, keyboards and harmonica) and Poppy Morgan (on piano).

from: http://www.side-line.com/news_comments.php?id=43437_0_2_0_C
Top Bottom